Martin Luther on the Righteous Man, Impatience, and Anger

Righteous people, however, do not hide their iniquity, do not become angry, do not grow impatient when they are wronged; for they do not feel that they can be wronged, since they find no righteousness in themselves.  These are the blessed to whom God remits iniquity and cancels it because they confess it.  Since they do not hide and cover their sin, God covers and hides it.

This is from a comment on Psalm 32:5. I appreciated the identification of the root of impatience as a sense of self-righteousness. He is certainly right. Anytime I am impatient it is because I think I deserve better than this. At the bottom of it all is the belief that I deserve to have all of my desired comforts and amenities when I desire them because I am a good enough guy to deserve such accommodations. Every public sigh and snarl is really a demonstration that I continue to suppress my own exalted opinion of my worth.  It is the public demonstration that I am clinging to my own righteousness instead of Christ’s.

I do not deserve empty check-outs at the grocery store, post office, and DMV.  I deserve the full wrath of God upon my sin.

Yet He forgave the iniquity of my sin.

Selah

One thought on “Martin Luther on the Righteous Man, Impatience, and Anger

  1. So true. I have found that the times I am the most impatient and abrupt with people is when I’m doing everything “right”, in terms of all the things that I feel I ought to do.

Leave a Reply

