What was Jesus doing on Saturday after the Crucifixion?

I am thankful for my Dispensational upbringing. I am thankful that I went to a Bible college and seminary where my professors believed the word of God and encouraged their students to pay attention to the text and go where the text leads.

And I believe those very reasons contributed to why I no longer consider myself a dispensationalist. As I have studied, I just have not seen Scripture interpreting itself with all the quirks, limitations, and idiosyncrasies of dispensationalism. Jesus is the point of Scripture: not dispensations, not the church, not Israel. Seeing Jesus as the point of Scripture has been for me like being one of those two on the road to Emmaus. My heart is set aflame as the Scriptures are opened.

I encourage you to seek to make Jesus the point of Scripture. What might that look like?

Psalm 142 begins with the inscription “A Maskil of David, when he was in the cave. A Prayer.” We know that Jesus is the Son of David in whom all the promises of God are yes. Taking the apostolic example of taking David’s words and applying them to Jesus (Acts 2:29-31), let us consider reading Psalm 142 as a prayer of David’s great Son from the cave of his tomb. Read these words as the voice of Jesus on Saturday of Holy Week:

A Maskil of David, when he was in the cave. A Prayer.
With my voice I cry out to the LORD; with my voice I plead for mercy to the LORD.
I pour out my complaint before him; I tell my trouble before him.
When my spirit faints within me, you know my way!
In the path where I walk they have hidden a trap for me.
Look to the right and see: there is none who takes notice of me;
No refuge remains to me; no one cares for my soul.
I cry to you, O LORD; I say, “You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.”
Attend to my cry, for I am brought very low!
Deliver me from my persecutors, for they are too strong for me!
Bring me out of prison, that I may give thanks to your name!
The righteous will surround me, for you will deal bountifully with me.

Praise be to God that he heard the prayer of his Son.

2 thoughts on “What was Jesus doing on Saturday after the Crucifixion?

  1. Pastor Brad,
    What does this mean? I have not heard of the term dispensationalism. Is it giving or ridding of something?
    Marilyn

  2. Dispensationalism is a method of Bible interpretation popularized by the Scofield Reference Bible. It is built upon an essentially literal interpretation of the Scripture, which is more or less a good thing. But I believe the system goes too far in some areas and tries to make the Bible fit the system rather than allowing the Bible to control the system.

    Its influence today continues through the Ryrie Study Bible, Chuck Swindoll, David Jeremiah, John MacArthur (though he is not as hung up on the term as others), and basically most popular evangelicals that are not Presbyterian or Reformed. Even though it is not as strong “in name” as it once once, many are still influenced by its teachings.

Leave a Reply

