Devotions for Advent: Week 2 Wednesday Isaiah 40:25-30; Matthew 18:12-14

To whom then will you compare me, that I should be like him? says the Holy One. Lift up your eyes on high and see: who created these? He who brings out their host by number, calling them all by name, by the greatness of his might, and because he is strong in power not one is missing. Why do you say, O Jacob, and speak, O Israel, “My way is hidden from the LORD, and my right is disregarded by my God”? Have you not known? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted…
Isaiah 40:25-30

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”
Matthew 11:28-30

Christmas is stress. There are too many places to go. There are too many things to do. There are too many people to see. There is not enough time, money, or patience for any of it. Christmas is depression. I am alone. I have nothing or no one. No job. No family. No friends. And “Christmas cheer” just rubs it all in my face. Christmas is hurt, hassle, and hurry.

But Christ.

Christ is rest. Christ is comfort. Christ is understanding. Christ all-powerful. Christ all-knowing. Christ all-merciful.

Away with Christmas. Seek Christ.

Christ, whose glory fills the skies,
Christ, the true, the only Light,
Sun of Righteousness, arise,
Triumph o’er the shades of night;
Dayspring from on high, be near;
Day-star, in my heart appear.

Dark and cheerless is the morn
Unaccompanied by Thee;
Joyless is the day’s return
Till Thy mercy’s beams I see;
Till they inward light impart,
Glad my eyes, and warm my heart.

Visit then this soul of mine,
Pierce the gloom of sin and grief;
Fill me, Radiancy divine,
Scatter all my unbelief;
More and more Thyself display,
Shining to the perfect day.

Leave a Reply

